9 pieces of advice I wish I could tell my younger self

 

10001372_757308997632731_1348181246756527915_nYes, this is a very bad picture of younger me.

Your flaws: accept them, flaunt it and own it.

I don’t know why, but we are always so afraid of our flaws and do our best to hide them. What we don’t understand is that we have these flaws for a reason – they define us. No human is perfect. And I think it takes a lot of courage to present yourself as you truly are, and I really admire such people.

Love your body and take care of it.

I have never really loved my body (I know, I know – I’m contradicting myself in terms of my above point), but yeah, I’ve always had a negative self-image perception, and I feel like it was really damaging, especially in my earlier years. To be honest, some of this was my own fault, because I still don’t look after my body as well as I should.

You don’t need to change for others.

This one is so important – a bit interlinked with the first point. We don’t need to impress others. We need to learn to be happy with who we are.

Forget the gender roles.

As a kid, I wouldn’t dream of asking for a toy car instead of a doll, but I wish I had. I was always a bit masculine, and loved to help my dad out with DIY projects. My dad adored me for this, because he always had wanted a son, with whom he could do ‘boy things’ with. Now, that I think about it, I don’t understand why we have such labels. Why are DIY tasks a ‘boys’ thing’? and why is dolls only for girls? It’s sad to think that from such a young age, we are taught that we are supposed to enjoy certain things and want certain products purely on the basis of our gender.

Think about the value of friendships.

So, this isn’t to say that I didn’t value my friendships – I had lots of friends, and if I say so myself, I am a very good friend indeed. But in the good old days, I never thought about how my childhood friends would become a part of my life, even in adulthood. I am still in contact with some of my friends from school, and it’s such a nice feeling to know they still have my back.

 Do what you wish with confidence.

Confidence is so damn attractive – you can do almost anything you wish, even it is completely random, and get away with it if you do it with confidence. So you have to believe in yourself, and know that you can do whatever you wish to do.

 It’s okay to be overweight.

What is all this non-sense with ‘ideal weight’ anyway? Who said we have to weigh a certain amount to be healthy? Such ideologies are so damaging to children – in some cases it leads to eating disorders. Kids should be able to be kids, and that means they should be able to eat whatever they hell they want to (obviously in reasonable terms – for example, we shouldn’t let kids eat 10 bars of chocolate for breakfast!)

 Don’t let bullies get to you.

Fact: kids are cruel! Don’t get me wrong here, but I must have met at least one bully per class, per year – there were literally bullies everywhere during primary and secondary school. I don’t know whether it’s because we’re in such an immature age during that time, or maybe it’s the peer pressure to be ‘cool’ but anyway, bullies are so damaging for the victims, because it makes you question your self-worth, and you become to think that maybe there is something wrong you. But there isn’t. You are perfect. There is nothing wrong with anyone. Bullies just pick on anyone just to pass their time. IMMATURE PEOPLE *rant over*

 Look how you want to look.

Forget the fashion trends – you will end up following those for the rest of your life anyway. So enjoy being a kid, and wear what you like (obviously only out of school hours where you don’t have to wear a uniform!). But yeah, if you like flower hair clips, that’s okay. If you want to wear trainers with a dress, that’s okay. If you want to wear a sleeveless t-shirt because its summer and well you’re boiling, that’s okay.

6 thoughts on “9 pieces of advice I wish I could tell my younger self

Leave a Reply

