Share Your World #26

What’s your most memorable (good or bad) airplane flight?

Well, I’ve only ever been to two holidays in my entire life (I went India when I was about 8, and then I went Turkey when I was around 10) so I don’t have a lot of options here. I suppose I’ll pick my first ever flight, which was to India because well, you can never forget your first experience can you? I don’t really remember much about it, but I do know that my parents knew beforehand that airplane food isn’t great, so my mum literally packed me and my sister’s backpacks with tons of crisps and coke – it was quite hilarious, but we did actually finish it all!

How many bones, if any, have you broken?

Thankfully, I have all my bones!

If you had your own talk show, who would your first three guests be?

I find this question so fascinating, and it took me a really long time to choose. I think the first person I would choose is my father – solely because he is always very jolly, and because of his humorous nature, I have never ever been able to have a deep conversation with him. I have tried a couple of times, but he never takes me seriously and just cracks up a joke. Secondly, I’d like to interview an author – doesn’t really matter who from William Shakespeare to maybe John Green. I just find writers so fascinating – I love the way they can just write up an entire book. Like how do they even organise the story and chapters? How do they come up with character names and settings? It just amazes me. Thirdly, I will pick an animal – any, it doesn’t really matter. Imagine if like just for the day, this animal was given the power to actually talk, and I could chat to them. There are so many questions I have – like how do you communicate with each other? Do you ever just lose a family member (for example, with birds, do they just fly away to some other place)? How do you recognise each other and differentiate between family and strangers (sometimes they just look so similar)?

Make a Currently List: what are you reading, watching, listening to, eating, needing, wanting, and missing right now?

Reading: The Maze Runner – I don’t know if this even counts as I have been stuck on this book for ages. I literally started reading this book in March, and I am usually quite a fast reader, however I just can’t get myself interested in this one. I feel like I have to at least give the series a chance, and finish at least the first book to know that I definitely do not like them.

Watching: It’s Ramadan at the moment (only a week left, eek!) so I try to spend more time praying instead of watching stuff. I am watching a Ramadan Series by Nouman Ali Khan (Islamic speaker), which is all about a specific chapter in the Qur’an – every day, a one-hour video is released and they’re absolutely brilliant.

Listening to: pages being printed out, tapping of keyboards, the coffee machine, phones ringing (I’m in my office).

Eating: Turkish delights – my sister went to a market a few days ago, and picked up these lovely fresh rose flavour Turkish delights which are absolutely delicious (and very sweet which isn’t helping my ‘diet’)

Needing: my sleep routine to return to normal. For the last couple of days, I just can’t sleep properly, and I am always very tired in the morning.

Wanting: my annual leave to hurry up. I have booked a few days off next week for Eid (it marks the end of Ramadan) and I really can’t wait for a break.

Missing: my niece Isra. As I may have mentioned earlier, I am absolutely obsessed with her. I see her every weekend, but it really isn’t enough. I FaceTime her throughout the week, but I still can’t wait to physically meet her.

Bonus question: what are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

This entire month has been a very humble month for me (and fellow Muslims). In Ramadan, we take out time to really connect with our Lord and remember all the favours he continuously blesses upon us all, and this really makes us appreciate us things that we take for granted. Like our sight, job, family, appetite, all our abilities. Even being able to pray peacefully is a luxury for us. Back in the day, people were really oppressed (I know this is now being repeated in some countries) and it was so difficult for Muslims to practice that they had to migrate to other places so they could worship in peace. And look how lucky we are to live in a society where everyone is so welcoming and open and accepting of differences. In the week coming up, I am looking really forward to Eid as obviously it is a very big festival for us. This year will be extra special, because it is Isra’s first Eid.

2 thoughts on “Share Your World #26

    • My parents are actually from India, so it was a vacation in a sense where we got to meet my entire extended family who all live there. I absolutely loved it because all my cousins (of similar age) were there and we had so much fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

