Share Your World #23

So, I know I said I wasn’t going to use social media much this month, but I did say that I would be in and out of WordPress as I am so addicted to it. Whilst I was having a nose around, I realised the SYW questions for this week have now been released! As this is the only one I participate it, I feel it is only fair to at least show up once a week, just to answer the questions, so here goes:

 What was one of your first moneymaking jobs?

The first paid job I ever had was for one month. The Census is a unique source of detailed demographic statistics which help outline the overall situation of the nation and how we live. So to gather this information, every ten years, a Census questionnaire is handed out to every household which residents can voluntarily complete. After a couple of weeks of having received all the questionnaires, Census Coverage Survey Interviewers go around different areas to invite residents to complete a second questionnaire. The purpose of this is to interview only 1% of the population, just to assess the quality of the previously self-completed questionnaires – I’m guessing it’s all got to do with research methods, and checking the validity and reliability.

So yeah, in 2011 I heard about the vacancy of a Census Coverage Survey Interviewer – it sounded perfect to me because as a college student, I needed flexible hours and this work was to be carried out in evenings and weekends. The pay was also amazing at £9 per hour so I was over the moon! But when I did start working, I realised I didn’t really enjoy it – many of the residents were very rude and didn’t want to participate as it wasn’t compulsory. That was okay, but the issue was that we were specifically told that not to take ‘no’ as an answer, so we had to pester the residents a lot (maybe I just needed work on my persuasion skills). But I did learn so much – I had previously worked in a retail shop for two weeks as part of my work placement required from school, but I didn’t have to answer a lot of queries over there. But whilst working for Census, I literally had to talk to billions of people per day, so it really did give me the opportunity to work on my communication skills. I also learnt lots about time management and organisation, as it was the first time I had to juggle around two things (work and college). I think I would like to participate in the next one – 2021 doesn’t actually seem that far away any longer!

What is your favourite month of the year?

When I first read the question, I was thinking more in terms of occasions – as in which month do I really like because there’s more birthdays/ anniversaries/ public holidays in it? But then I thought, let me be more practical, in terms of which month I like to live in. I think I’ll go for May because the weather is just perfect for me. I don’t like to be cold, and I’ve never liked summer as I absolutely can’t stand being hot and sweaty. May is perfect because the sun does show up occasionally, but it’s nice and cool and windy. We also get two bank holidays in May, so I think it’s a win-win situation.

What three things in nature do you find most beautiful?

I love leaves, especially the autumn ones when they’re a lovely orange/red colour and have a crinkly feel. I also love grass if it’s an entire field – I suppose this is a little weird, but there is this huge open field that I walk past every day to and from work and I just think it’s so pretty. It’s honestly just so simple, and it’s literally only grass but I love it so much. I also absolutely love flowers – love love them! If you’re every stuck on what to gift me, go buy me flowers. Or make me a daisy chain.

List at least five of your favourite spices?

I found this one so hard to answer, as I am not a spice person – I am a food person. I don’t cook (bless my mum) and so I don’t even know much about spices – I just eat whatever looks and tastes good. So anyway, I had to steal a few from Cee’s list (I don’t even know what most of them are!) and pick the following:

  • Vanilla
  • Mint
  • Ginger
  • Basil
  • Cinnamon
Leave a Reply

