Share Your World #22

So, I am feeling a little bit sad about this week’s questions. Firstly, I am just thinking about all of those who have lost their lives due to wars. Secondly, I feel sad because I have been thinking about holidays in general for the last couple of days, and I really want to go on holiday! The last trip I had was to Turkey (for a week only) TWELVE (yes you read that right – 12) YEARS ago. Honestly, I deserve a holiday any time now. Most of my colleagues are making full use of half-term and have holidays booked, and here’s me, still stuck in England. My sister (and her family) and I are planning (fingers crossed it works out!) to go Paris in the next couple of months so let’s see! Anyway, my answers for this week:

Every country in the world has lost men and women in some kind of Armed Forces. When does your country celebrate or mourn their deaths?

In the United Kingdom, we have Remembrance Day (which is also referred to as Poppy Day sometimes). This Memorial Day takes place on the second Sunday in November every year since the end of the First World War. We also observe 2 minutes of silence at 11am annually on 11th November as this is the time and date when hostilities formally ended. The reason this Memorial Day is also sometimes known as Poppy Day is because we wear poppies on this day – this became a symbol of our remembrance of sacrifices because corn poppies grow naturally in conditions of disturbed earth, and it was the only plant to grow on barren battlefields after the conflict. The significance was realised by surgeon John McCrae who later wrote a poem on this. It was then adopted by The Royal British Legion as the symbol for their Poppy Appeal.

 What is your favourite holiday or holidays?

To be honest, (strangely enough), I don’t really celebrate public holidays so I don’t really have a favourite one! The only holidays I do like are proper holidays where I can go to a different country and just relax

How do you celebrate that holiday?

I think all holidays should be celebrated in the same way – FOOD

Leave a Reply

