3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 1

Before I get right into it, I would like to say a big thank you to the wonderful Francesca who has very kindly tagged me in this challenge – I have just recently come across her blog and I love it. Her writing styles amuses me and she has lovely content so do go check her out!

The fine print (I.e. the rules):

  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • Post a quote for three consecutive days
  • Nominate three new bloggers each day

So, I thought it would only be fair to start this challenge off with my favourite quote from the first book I was ‘exposed’ to. Let me explain what I mean. As a child, I didn’t really enjoy reading books and the only times I would read would be at school. Of course, during my very younger years, our teacher would read lots of books to the entire class, and I did enjoy them. But I don’t really remember them so I can’t pick a quote from them.

When I started secondary school (ages 11-16 for those who aren’t familiar with the British education system), I figured out that reading wasn’t something that was just a hobby. English Class made me realise that books were meant to be analysed because the author often has hidden meaning within the lines and these need to be discovered. So, one time in Year 9, we had to read an amazing, famous and brilliantly written play, and one quote from there changed my life:

3de1381d9d8753b517c410699fb2c846

For those of you who are completely unaware (how?), this quote is taken from the good old William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. I remember my teenage years when we were asked to read this book as a project for English Class and we then had to produce many essays, so we had to know the book inside out. As stereotypically expected (disclaimer: I am strongly against stereotypes, especially gender ones), all the boys detested at the thought of reading this book, whilst all the girls were extremely excited. To be honest, I wasn’t particularly impressed either (I didn’t like plays) but when this line came across, my entire viewpoint changed. I think it has something to do with the way it’s so well written.

At first I was completely unaware of what the quote even meant (I was about 13 after all) but I then I really got in to it. It’s funny y isn’t it? Sometimes we desire something and then realise maybe it isn’t all that good for us. Or sometimes the opposite happens, and we realise that the whole thing we always hated is the only thing we really need – see, I like the way you can have two different perspectives on this.

I would like to nominate the following:

  • Arielle 
  • Shehzadi
  • Gwin
  • Also anyone else who would like to take part, please don’t be shy and join in the fun!
2 thoughts on “3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 1

Leave a Reply

