5 Things I Learned From University…

If you’re lucky enough to go to (or actually want to – I understand not everyone who can wants to!) university, I can absolutely guarantee that it will teach you a lot. And funnily enough, most of the things you do learn won’t even be academic! In my perspective, the best lessons are those that I learned outside the lecture room – here’s my top five!

You grow as a person.

University honestly does give you the opportunity to develop various skills such as organisation, time management and of course confidence. Since graduating, I really do see a difference in myself – I feel I am more aware now as university has prepared me for the real world.

You are not your course.

Honestly, the amount of times people say to me ‘oh you studied this, so must know/ do this’ – like NO. At the end of the day, I am a human, NOT a textbook. Also, (as it is impossible to do so), I did not learn EVERYTHING about this subject during the course of three years.

Mutual struggle is amazing.

Those times during exam season when literally everyone was stressed out together was so beautiful. It’s a very comforting feeling to know that you are not alone, and the support given and received during this time is simply wonderful.

The more you learn, the less you know.

I cannot stress this one enough – the more information I have, the more I realise that there is still SO much I still do not know.

You’re actually quite independent.

This one may seem a little contradictory as I did stay with family. However, it does apply in  terms of education. There is so little support from lecturers and that’s when I realised that I am actually capable of doing my own research – I don’t need spoon-feeding anymore (that’s obviously a really good feeling!).

8 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned From University…

  1. This is such a profound and well written post. Although I have not attended university, I did do a 2 year college program at 52 years old, and what you shared really resounds. What I appreciated most was students who were my daughters age accepting me as a peer.

    There were indeed a lot of lessons learned outside the lecture room. It was a great experience. hank you for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you for your kind words! I’m glad to hear that college turned out great for you- thank you for sharing this experience. Can I also say how inspiring I find it that you went at the age of 52! That is the best thing about university/ college- that you get to meet and interact with a wide range of people coming from different backgrounds and ages and that in itself can change your understanding of life 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

